Sabah, Sarawak reps to join EAC


26 Mac 2020, 7:09 pagi

Updated 9 d ago



Representatives from Sabah and Sarawak will be joining the Economic Action Council (EAC) soon, said Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Economy) Mustapa Mohamed.

The EAC had been set up by the Perikatan Nasional government on March 11, chaired by Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin.

Aside from Mustapa, the EAC comprises International Trade and Industry Minister Azmin Ali, Finance Minister Tengku Zafrul Aziz, Bank Negara governor Noor Shamsiah Yunos and renowned economist Noor Azlan Ghazali.

Mustapa said this during the “EAC Narrative Discourse: Shaping the People’s Economic Landscape” programme, aired by Radio Televisyen Malaysia (RTM) last night.

Other EAC committee members include chairperson of The Edge, Tong Kooi Ong; MERCY Malaysia founder Dr Jemilah Mahmood; Celcom Axiata Bhd group managing director Jamaluddin Ibrahim; Westports Malaysia executive chairman G Gnanalingam and Sunway Group chairperson Jeffrey Cheah.

The council was formed to monitor and address the economic woes faced by the country.

“With such a great combination (of the government and the private sector), rest assured that the government is always listening to the people,” said Mustapa.

He added that the government had also set up a special website, where members of the public can share their thoughts on ways to stabilise and strengthen the nation’s economy in the face of the Covid-19 pandemic.

So far, it has received 1,900 responses on issues such as wages, employment and the Employees Provident Fund (EPF).


Related Reports