Juhar appointed as Yang Dipertua Negeri of Sabah for third term


The Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Nazrin Shah today presented the appointment letter for the Yang Dipertua Negeri of Sabah for the third term to Juhar Mahiruddin, which takes effect on Jan 1, 2019.

The ceremony was held at Singgahsana Kecil in Istana Negara, and was witnessed by Deputy Prime Minister Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail.

Also present were Home Minister Muhyiddin Yassin, Dewan Rakyat Speaker Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof and Inspector-General of Police Mohamad Fuzi Harun.

Juhar, 65, was appointed the 10th Yang Dipertua Negeri of Sabah on Jan 1, 2011, replacing Ahmadshah Abdullah, and was appointed to the post for a second term on Jan 1, 2015.

The Sabah State Assembly recently passed a bill on an amendment to the Sabah State Constitution on the abolishment of the two-term limit for the post of the Sabah Yang Dipertua Negeri (TYT).

Juhar, a law graduate from Wolverhampton Polytechnic, England, was Sabah state assembly speaker between 2002 and 2010 and deputy speaker of the Dewan Rakyat from 1990 to 1999.

- Bernama


Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000