Earthquake hits three provinces in Indonesia

    (Updated )

    An earthquake rocked three provinces in Indonesia within 10 hours today since 12.45am, but there has been no report of a casualty or damage to property so far.

    According to the Indonesian Meteorological, Climatology and Geophysical Agency (BMKG) , the latest quake, with a magnitude of 5.0 on the Richter scale occurred at 9.50am (West Indonesia time) in the Pangandaran province, West Java, with its epicentre at 160km southwest of Pangandaran-Jabar.

    The first quake, measuring 5.1 on the Richter scale, occurred early morning in the province of North Bengkulu at 12.45am with its epicentre at 57km northeast of North Bengkulu.

    This was then followed by another earthquake, measuring 3.1 on the Richter scale, at 8.48am in the Mamasa province.

    The epicentre of the earthquake was at 6km east of Kacamatan Sesenapadang, Mamasa.

    The Indonesian authorities are monitoring the situation and so far, it posed no tsunami threat.

    According to Indonesian media reports, residents in the affected areas remained calm, but are on the alert for possible aftershocks.

    - Bernama

    Switch to our desktop view for a better reading experience.

    Switch now No thanks

    Welcome back,

    Your subscription expires on

    Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

    Your subscription is expired
      Click here to renew

    You are not subscribed to any subscription package
      Click here to subscribe now

    Any questions?
      Email: [email protected]
      Call: +603-777-00000