Former diplomat Razali Ismail is new Suhakam chairperson

    (Updated )

    Former diplomat Razali Ismail was today appointed as the chairperson of the Human Rights Commission of Malaysia (Suhakam).        

    Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak also announced the appointment of Suhakam's new members, namely Professor Aishah Bidin, Francis Johen anak Adam, Mah Weng Kwai, Godfrey Gregory Joitol, Nik Salida Suhaila Nik Salleh, Jerald Joseph and Lok Yim Pheng.        

    The appointment is for a period of three years (2016-2019), according to the prime minister in a statement today.             

    The prime minister said pursuant to subsection 5(2) of the Human Rights Commission 1999 (Act 597), the Agong had consented to the appointment of Razali and the members.

    "In accordance with subsection 6(1) of Act 597, the Agong had consented to Razali Ismail's appointment as Suhakam chairperson," he said.       

    - Bernama

    Switch to our desktop view for a better reading experience.

    Switch now No thanks

    Welcome back,

    Your subscription expires on

    Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

    Your subscription is expired
      Click here to renew

    You are not subscribed to any subscription package
      Click here to subscribe now

    Any questions?
      Email: [email protected]
      Call: +603-777-00000